Jul 12, 2020  
2019-2020 Catalogue 
2019-2020 Catalogue

Earth Sciences Minor

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Areas of Study

Meagen Pollock, Chair
Shelley Judge
Greg Wiles
Mark Wilson

The Department of Earth Sciences at The College of Wooster produces liberally educated scientists who are well-versed in scientific methodology and its application, who possess a thorough knowledge of fundamental geologic concepts, who take a creative approach to problem-solving, and who are able to express themselves with clarity, both orally and in writing.

Earth Science is an interdisciplinary science. Geologists employ principles of physics, chemistry, and biology to understand Earth history and Earth processes. Geologists should be broadly educated in the natural sciences and have diverse field and laboratory experience with rocks and fossils, which is the primary goal of the Geology major at Wooster.

Minor in Earth Sciences

Consists of six courses:


  • Five Elective Earth Sciences courses, with no more than two courses at the 100-Level (BIOL-36000 may count as one of these electives)

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Areas of Study